NOVEMBER CHALLENGE 2010

A story a day, for thirty days

_______________________________________________

I’ve been all over the place today.  In my secret other life (in an insurance broking firm) I’m a health & safety representative.  Being H&S means you’re freakishly aware of all the terrible things that can happen to ANYBODY at ANY TIME and PROBABLY WILL, so not having a first aider in our office makes me nervous.  So I volunteered, and I’ve been across town on the first day of a three day course.

How does this affect the writing?  Completely.  Not a word.  In fact, it was only on my way back into town, to have a walk to the other part of town, to catch a bus to the hospital for an appointment, that I finally sat down in the waiting room and typed the first frantic few pages.

Then it was a bus back to the Interchange.  No buses.  Walk back for the Super-Tram?  Or get a taxi?  Walked to the train station and got a taxi.  Taxi driver, halfway, announces he forgot to reset the meter.  So argue with the taxi driver about him trying to fleece me afterwards.  Get out only halfway home, walk the rest of the way.

Knackered.

But I just about did it.  This one is for Lisa, who asked me “Tell me a spooky story!”

[Edit:  Sorry, you are too late to read this story.  Some stories may be retained on the website.  Some e-mail requests for copies of the stories are being granted (spinning.lizard@yahoo.co.uk).]

A shout out must go to Pulp for the lyrics to the song our heroine hears.

I’ll have the story on the proper page on the main website soon along with all the others (sorry!).  For now you will (hopefully) see a .pdf copy of the story attached to read (you’ll need Adobe Acrobat Reader) or download to your PC, laptop or e-book.

The stories will remain available for a minimum of 30 days but no later than 30th December 2010.  I would love to hear your thoughts on any of the stories either on this blog, or via the website’s forum.

Enjoy, and thanks for reading,

db

