NOVEMBER CHALLENGE 2010

A story a day, for thirty days

_______________________________________________

 

Why am I uploading my stories bang on midnight, so close to the moment of failure that would render this last week wasted?  The answer: stuff.  Stuff keeps getting in the way.  It’s contaminating my mindset.  I think about story up until a meeting a work blows me in a funk, or I get to my new home and realise how much sorting out there is to do, or the cats look dejected and need a play, or I desperately need some quality time with my beautiful girlfriend, or I’m miserable and need comforting, or I’ve just hooked up the new PS3 (the last one got stolen) and ooh look, I can download all those cool gamelets I had a year ago and really missed playing up until now, or I’m getting a cold, or I’m too hot, or I’m more interested in writing the blog entry for the story than the story itself…

But today I did manage it in time.  I’m proud of this one.  It’s different.  It may even be the foundation for a novel, or a collection of interconnected short stories.  If I go about things differently, then I can do what I like with the pre-existing mythos.

[Edit:  Sorry, you are too late to read this story.  Some stories may be retained on the website.  Some e-mail requests for copies of the stories are being granted (spinning.lizard@yahoo.co.uk).]

I’ll have the story on the proper page on the main website in the evening, once I get home from work.  For now you will (hopefully) see a .pdf copy of the story attached to read (you’ll need Adobe Acrobat Reader) or download to your PC, laptop or e-book.

The stories will remain available for a minimum of 30 days but no later than 30th December 2010.  I would love to hear your thoughts on any of the stories either on this blog, or via the website’s forum.

Enjoy, and thanks for reading,

db

Edit: I’ve corrected some formatting issues this morning.  I trust that this isn’t breaking any rules!  I really am proud of this one, I hope you all enjoy it too.

