NOVEMBER CHALLENGE 2010

A story a day, for thirty days

_______________________________________________

Okay, so I put this one off a little.  I knew it would be a long one.  I also knew that I would be waiting in town for a friend’s birthday do for 2 1/2 hours after work, with nothing to do but write.

“Now’s the time,” I thought. “Write ‘Big Dog’.”

So I did.  And it took ages.  Not JUST because it’s a long story.  Mainly, it’s because I did everything else but write today.  No early start.  No writing at lunchtime – I went out into the Sheffield food market instead and stuffed myself with noodles.  It’s a sort of ritual I do every time the market is in town.  Noodles from the noodle stand.  People who know me know that I love noodles.

So after work I thought, “I’ll look in this shop”.  I looked, picked out a few things.  Saw another shop.  “I’ve got plenty of time”.  Forgot to get the guy a birthday present, went into a third shop.  Then to Starbucks, which is usually full of other pretentious dicks on their laptops just like me.  Chai tea latte.  No I’m not gay.  Sit down, crack on with it…

I wrote this blog entry before I even finished it.  Currently it’s 23:00.  One hour to go, and a few more lines of “Big Dog” left to write.

COME ON.

Anyway.  Assume that by the time you read this, that I finished it and the .pdf below is the finished product, probably a first draft full of errors and typing mistakes.  Oh well.  That’s part of the experiment, isn’t it?

The .pdf is here to view, or download to your PC or e-book reader (you’ll need Adobe Acrobat Reader).

[Edit:  Sorry, you are too late to read this story.  Some stories may be retained on the website.  Some e-mail requests for copies of the stories are being granted (spinning.lizard@yahoo.co.uk).]

The stories will remain available for a minimum of 30 days but no later than 30th December 2010.  I would love to hear your thoughts on any of the stories either on this blog, or via the website’s forum.

Enjoy, and thanks for reading,

db

