NOVEMBER CHALLENGE 2010

A story a day, for thirty days

_______________________________________________

And so it begins.  A month of desperately thinking of ideas, of researching them surreptitiously on the internet at work, of banging out a minimum of 1,000 words per day, of feeling in desperation that every line is crap, of kicking myself for being so stupidly ambitous, of wanting to succeed, of wanting to give in, of wanting to want to succeed.

I’ve received a lot of support for this challenge that I have stupidly set myself.  A short story a day for the next thirty days, to be published live as they are completed no later than midnight, having been started no earlier than 00:01 that morning.

I’ve allowed myself to take notes as they occur to me, and I have a growing list of ideas.  But I’ve restricted myself to not actually planning a story, or researching it, or writing a single word until the day it is to be completed.

Day one: it begins.

This one came easily once I had the idea.  It’s relatively short at less than 2,000 words (7 or so pages).  I hope I do the idea justice.

[Edit:  Sorry, you are too late to read this story.  Some stories may be retained on the website.  Some e-mail requests for copies of the stories are being granted (spinning.lizard@yahoo.co.uk).]

I’ll have the story on the proper page on the main website in the evening, once I get home from work.  For now you will (hopefully) see a .pdf copy of the story attached to read (you’ll need Adobe Acrobat Reader) or download to your PC, laptop or e-book.

The stories will remain available for a minimum of 30 days but no later than 30th December 2010.  I would love to hear your thoughts on any of the stories either on this blog, or via the website’s forum.

Enjoy, and thanks for reading,

db

